07.08.13

fan

The imminent holiday/return to my birth country has been playing on my mind. It’ll be the first time I’ve been back since my early-teens. I wonder whether the sights, sounds and smells will be familiar or whether things will have changed so much that it’ll be like being in a totally new place.

Not to mention, the cockroaches. Enormous, dark, flying terrors which give me the heebie-jeebies. I’m feeling ill thinking about them. (Totally the wrong thing to think about, but there you have it. I can’t control the phobia, can I? I think one of the reasons I stayed in the UK for so long was because I met very few cockroaches there. Perth -to which I return regularly to see my folks- has big ones, but they’re nowhere near as terrifying as the ones I remember from my tropical childhood.)

