13.03.13

very cold and very chocolatey

I had lunch with a few colleagues today at The Sailors Club in Rose Bay. To those of you who are familiar with Sydney’s restaurant scene, you probably know that it used to be Pier, of the three-hatted ilk way back in 2010. It was a suitably sweet location for a sunny and bright day, right on Rose Bay with the usual selection of marine vessels moored close by on the glimmering waters of the bay.

It wasn’t a massive lunch, and just in case you were wondering why we whooping it up mid-week, it was to celebrate an accomplishment which involved a lot of work and time (not to mention weekends and nights, for some of us) – and we dutifully returned to the office afterward.

I snapped a shot of my dessert, the Sailors Club tiramisu. There was a dry ice thing going on which made for a lot of oohing and aahing. It was extremely cold, extremely chocolately, and I felt a little sick after I’d made my way through slightly more than half the serving – I couldn’t finish, but I did enjoy it immensely. Very different to a tiramisu you’d have say, in Venice, but it was pretty perfect for a hot day.

What say you?

