02.03.13

Kings Park

When I was in Perth a month ago, I went to Kings Park one morning. Despite having lived in Perth for about a decade when I was younger, I don’t think I’ve been to Kings Park more than a handful of times. Seems odd now that I think about it. Besides being a beautiful place, it also boasts some stunning views of Perth. It’s one of those places that fills me with that Good to be Alive! feeling. I think a lot of that is related to the trees. The ones you see above, on Fraser Avenue, stand tall and majestic, having been planted in 1929. (Yes, I am a nerd who reads plaques. I also like to wait until the credits have finished rolling before I depart a cinema.)

I walked past the woman sitting in the shade (bottom left corner of the photo) a couple of times. Was it the headscarf over the bald head, her thinness, or her frail demeanour as she balanced somewhat precariously on her stationary walking frame, that gave her away? Further along was the white hospital van, with the driver/attendant waiting patiently.

I couldn’t help but think back to this time last year.

Yes, it’s almost a year since the cancer claimed my dad.

4 thoughts on “02.03.13

  1. Dear Jaded Lotus,

    This is a glorious day in the photo and as much blue sky as we get in Sydney, I am still always in awe when I see such blue in Perth. Kings Park really is beautiful, especially at the look out point over the Swan river.

    I do recall following the story of your dad’s illness and how you got the eventual news that he had passed from your elder sister. I felt sad for your family too but remembering your dad at a beautiful place tells you that he too is at a beautiful place.

    • I always mention the amazing giant cloudless bluest-blue dome to people who’ve never been to Perth. It seems weird and trivial, everyone has a sky don’t they? – but man, that blue.

      Thanks for the other thought, too.

  2. This is a really beautiful post. And a really beautiful picture to match.
    Reminds me to look up the next time I’m there.

What say you?

