27.02.13

high noon

So. What’s the best way to ask “Who is this?” when you receive a text message from an unknown number? Whatever it is, I don’t know it.

At 17:11 today: “You coming to Dappled Cities at candys [sic] kings cross [sic] this Friday?”

Funny because I had been pondering the pros and cons of getting a ticket. On the one hand, I am a fan (as anyone who reads this blog may have noted previously); on the other, we are talking about The Cross. On a Friday Night. Not my favourite place to be on a Friday night, nor my favourite night to be in The Cross. I don’t think they’re the same thing, and both are equally valid.

Of course I texted back; t’would’ve been rude not to: “Not sure.”

Followed by: “Who is this btw? Sorry. {EMOJI FACE}”

What was I saying about rude…? Guilty.

This reminds me of that episode in Girls where Jessa receives a text and she doesn’t know who it’s from, but instead of asking who it is, she texts back that she’s at “The Best Party Ever.” And then sends the address and waits to see who turns up.

I don’t think I’m likely to get a response now or if I do, the person who sent it will probably make something up because I’ve offended them (it has been several hours since I asked), and when I turn up on Friday, it’ll be too late when s/he accosts me in a dark alley, wielding an axe or Anthrax or, worse still, a bottle of NZ Sauvignon Blanc. (Just kidding, NZ. But I’m not kidding about Sauv Blanc.)

So. Candy’s and DC.

What say you?

