21.01.13

stay on trackI won’t lie, I very nearly came unstuck yesterday afternoon. The Hub had opened a bottle of something red from Italy and it smelt simply wondrous. Mind you, I’m not normally a red wine drinker, but I really wanted some at that moment. I didn’t, though, I’m relieved to say, but I was still thinking about it this morning (and now! — because I’ve just had dinner) which just goes to show the funny stuff that goes on in one’s head in prohibition-style circumstances. But for now, I remain on track.

3 thoughts on “21.01.13

  1. Dear Jaded Lotus,

    Technically speaking, sniffing the aromas of wine can be deemed as consuming due to the presence of alcohol fumes. An example would be substance abusers who sniff petrol. Also, I don’t know any wine connoisseur who will drink a good wine without first sniffing it, especially if it is the intoxicating, complex and seductive aromas of a sexy red. However, I would be the first to dismiss this petty technicality because it shows that your willpower to see through this challenge is very strong in the face of temptation, albeit it is still early days. I, for one, will not be able to cope without a few rounds of Scotch at the end of each day.

    You have the knowledge that with every restraint exercised, with every beautiful glass of wine, be it red, white or bubbly that is turned away and dismissed, the reward of that sweet forbidden fruit at the end becomes a little sweeter.

    Keep it up because I believe you will become a stronger person at the end of this challenge and if that is the case, I am with you all the way.

    • You know which wine smell really gets me at the moment? The Pinot noir from Central Otago. Ahhhh…… Guilty of cheating, I am. (Just call me ‘Lance’. No, not quite!)

  2. Thanks ChopinandMysaucepan. I must say that I wasn’t even sticking my nose near the glass or the bottle – as soon as the stuff was poured, its plumminess was there and in my face.

What say you?

