08.01.13

Sky MirrorI apologise if you’re getting tired of all this art, but I don’t seem to myself… I might even hazard a guess that the art is an improvement on me posting ‘selfies’ or body parts (just hands, maybe feet, nothing racy!) photos.

It was extremely hot in Sydney today with the temperature rising to 43C/109.4F in the city, and combined with the wind, being outside made me feel like I’d opened the door of a fan-forced oven and stuck my head in it. Just like being in Perth (where the family is), really.

Anish Kapoor’s Sky Mirror (2006) at the MCA… I imagine it would’ve been dazzlingly blinding in today’s sunshine. When I lived in Perth, I always visualised cracking eggs on the bitumen and watching them sizzle during those long hot summers – random, I know. Now I’ll think of doing the same on Sky Mirror. (Don’t worry, I’d never commit such an act of vandalism.)

What say you?

