10.12.12

10.12.12When I lived in London, I used to call friends back ‘home’ when I was out; a lot of my calls used to take place in the early hours of the morning when I was tipsy and chatty. Now that I am living in the same country as family and friends, the calls don’t seem to happen as frequently. I know that sounds ironic and odd, but the fact is I hardly ever feel like talking on the phone – I have to psych myself up to do it.

These days, calls home are even scarcer because daylight saving has added an extra hour between Western Australia and New South Wales – it’s normally two hours and much easier to work around. On weekends, when I want to call, Perth is still asleep; when Perth is awake, I’m at the gym or having lunch or busy with errands; when I want to call before heading out for the evening, it’s naptime in the West. I just can’t seem to coordinate a time that works. I wish WA would get with the daylight saving/summertime programme.

What say you?

