08.12.12

keep outSometimes I just wish I could put up a ‘KEEP OUT’ sign on myself. People can be so curious just for the hell of being curious, when it’s none of their business, and all they want to do is fish for information that they can then parlay into frivolous chatter at their next Friday evening work drinks session. If there’s one thing I’ve learnt this year, it’s that people gossip far too easily. I would much rather hear about you when I’m talking to you, not about someone else. It reminds me of a saying I heard once along the lines of humans are divided into three types: those who talk about others, those who talk about events, and those who talk about ideas. There’s far too much of the people talking about others in certain circles at my office and it makes me a bit nauseous, frankly.

It was the work Christmas party last night. I’m glad that’s over and done with.

What say you?

