05.10.12

Missed posting last night because I was out Doing Stuff. Specifically, catching Sydney band Dappled Cities at The Metro Theatre. Go me! And on a school night, too.

I have a soft spot for these guys. They got me through the time I spent in Perth earlier this year, at my parents’ place, with my dad in the final stages of his cancer. Now when I listen to albums, A Smile and Grandance, I am transported back to those hot nights in the ‘burbs, wondering how much longer my dad had in him. (Not long at all, as it turned out.)

Dappled Cities’ latest album, Lake Air, was released a few months ago, and of course I’ve listened to it – countless times. It was a joyous experience to see them perform songs from this album, of course, including The Leopard, The Weekend, Work In The Mould. Also, one of the night’s highlights (for me) was the inclusion of Wooden Ships from the Zounds album. I don’t think I’ll ever tire of that track.

Well worth the late night and that ‘dusty’ feeling this morning.

What say you?

