08.08.13

Malaysia

I’m sorry, I know how tedious it is when people harp on about their holidays. But I mention it again because it felt real only today, not because I printed my boarding pass, but because I picked up the cash from the bureau de change.

And the thought that popped into my head was: I’m pretty sure I hadn’t seen too many $100 ringgit notes when I was a kid – did they look unfamiliar to me now for that reason, or simply because they had changed?

It’s a very strange feeling indeed. I wonder if the sounds/language(s) and smells and what-not that were so much a part of my childhood will feel familiar once again, or if I’ve been away for too long.

I came home this evening and the first thing I did was turn on Spotify to listen to P. Ramlee. (My older sister would be quite chuffed with that, I think. The last time I listened to P. Ramlee was at her place earlier this year when I introduced her to Spotify and she plugged in several world music, obscure, non-mainstream songs she could think of – P. Ramlee was one of them; Spotify had them all, by the way.)

2 thoughts on “08.08.13

  1. i think you’ll remember, snatches, bits and pieces, definitely smells (such a weird thing, olfactory memory). you’ll always be from there. that’s my experience anyway…

What say you?

